Edit ModuleShow Tags

8 Things to Know About Equal Opportunity Housing


​​Where a person lives can directly impact their lives, affecting their education, health and economic opportunities. Discriminatory practices in housing can lead to segregation in communities and have a lasting impact on quality of life for those discriminated against. The Fair Housing Act has been and will continue to be an important factor in contributing to the development of communities and lives across the board, furthering education and wellbeing for those involved in their community. This gives rise to a healthier and more interconnected city that looks to help each other instead of fight each other to promote families of all types. 

Through this, education is another factor that is impacted based on where a person lives. Factors like housing quality, affordability, and neighborhood location often impact a person’s education, making unnecessary divisions and further separating communities. The Fair Housing Act works toward expanding and creating educational opportunities in such communities. This is why it is important to know you and your clients' rights when house hunting this year. 

Here are 8 things you need to know about the Fair Housing Act:

  • When the Fair Housing Act was put into place, it prohibited discrimination based on a person’s race, color, religion, sex or national origin.
  • There are seven protected classes under the Fair Housing Act today: race, color, religion, national origin, sex, disability, and familial status.
  • According to a 2016 study, disability is the most common source of complaints filed.
  • Race is the second most common source of complaints.
  • The Act covers all residential and real estate transactions including loans, construction, home improvement, repair and maintenance, and the selling or appraising of a property.
  • Though it is not one of the seven protected classes, criminal history-based restrictions can violate the Act.
  • Article 10 in the REALTOR® Code of Ethics details that REALTORS® “shall not deny equal professional services to any person for reasons of race, color, religion, sex, handicap, familial status, national origin, sexual orientation, or gender identity.”
  • If you suspect discrimination contact SABOR or the U.S Department of Housing and Urban Development.

Add your comment:
Edit ModuleShow Tags


Show More...
Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags Edit ModuleShow Tags